XFX Radeon HD 5750 Video Card Review
By Gabriel Torres on October 21, 2009


Introduction

Hardware Secrets Silver Award

Radeon HD 5700 series is the first mid-range DirectX 11 video cards to arrive on the market. Let’s see the performance of Radeon HD 5750 from XFX and see if it is a good buy.

Radeon HD 5750 runs internally at 700 MHz and features 720 processors – a little bit less than the 800 processors found on Radeon HD 4850 –, accessing its memory through a 128-bit interface, which is half the width found on Radeon HD 4850. Radeon HD 5750, like Radeon HD 4870 and Radeon HD 5870, uses GDDR5 memory chips, which are capable of transferring four data per clock cycle instead of just two. This makes the memories, which are accessed at 1,150 MHz, to achieve a performance as if they were accessed at 4.6 GHz, providing a 73.6 GB/s maximum theoretical transfer rate. To compare these specs to other graphics chips please take a look at our AMD ATI Chips Comparison Table and NVIDIA Chips Comparison Table.

The main competitor to Radeon HD 5750 is GeForce GTS 250. In our review we will be mainly comparing the performance from these two video cards. We also included in our review Radeon HD 4850 and Radeon HD 4870, plus the new Radeon HD 5770 and GeForce GTX 260/216, and we should come up with a very interesting comparison.

Now let’s talk specifically about the Radeon HD 5750 from XFX. As you may be aware, XFX – which, by the way, many years ago was known as “Pine” – was for years one of the leading NVIDIA partners, and a while ago they decided they shouldn’t manufacture only NVIDIA-based video cards.

This model, also known as HD-575X-ZNFC, comes with 1 GB, two DVI outputs, one HDMI output and one DisplayPort output, following the reference model from AMD.This video card allows you to use up to three video monitors at the same time as a single desktop, feature known as “Eyefinity.” But there is a catch: the third monitor must use the DisplayPort connector, which is still not popular. 

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 1: XFX Radeon HD 5750.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 2: XFX Radeon HD 5750.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 3: XFX Radeon HD 5750.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 4: Connectors.

Introduction (Contíd)

We removed the video card cooler to take a look. As you can see in Figure 5, the cooler is very simple, using an aluminum base. It doesn’t touch the memory chips and they have no heatsinks on them.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 5: Video card cooler.

With the cooler removed you can see that almost all capacitors are solid, which is a terrific feature as they don’t leak (the ones that are not solid are from Elcon, a Chinese manufacturer). Like the memory chips, the transistors from the voltage regulator don’t have a heatsink.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 6: XFX Radeon HD 5750 with its cooler removed.

XFX Radeon HD 5750 uses eight 1 Gbit Hynix H5GQ1H24AFR-T2C GDDR5 chips, making its 1 GB memory (1 Gbit x 8 = 1 GB). These chips have a maximum transfer rate of 5 Gbps (“T2C” marking), which is equivalent of a 5 GHz GDDR5 clock or 1.25 GHz (5 GHz / 4) real clock. Since on this video card the memory was running at 1.15 GHz, there is an 8.7% headroom for you to overclock the memories with them still running inside their specifications. Of course you can always try pushing them above their specs. In Figure 7 we provide a close-up of the GDDR5 memory chips.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 7: GDDR5 memory chips.

In Figure 8, you can see all accessories that come with this video card, basically a quick installation guide, a driver CD, a power adapter for converting two peripheral power plugs into one six-pin video card power connector, and a “do not disturb” sign.

XFX Radeon HD 5750
click to enlarge
Figure 8: Accessories.

Main Specifications

XFX Radeon HD 5750 main features are:

* Researched at Newegg.com on the day we published this review.

How We Tested

During our benchmarking sessions, we used the configuration listed below. Between our benchmarking sessions the only variable was the video card being tested.

Hardware Configuration

Software Configuration

  • Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
  • Service Pack 2
  • Video resolution: 2560x1600 @ 60 Hz

Driver Versions

  • Intel Inf driver version: 9.1.1.1020
  • AMD/ATI video driver version: 8.660.0.0
  • NVIDIA video driver version: 190.62 (8.16.11.9062)

Software Used

Error Margin

We adopted a 3% error margin; thus, differences below 3% cannot be considered relevant. In other words, products with a performance difference below 3% should be considered as having similar performance.

3DMark Vantage Professional

3DMark Vantage measures Shader 4.0 (i.e., DirectX 10) performance and supports PhysX, a programming interface developed by Ageia (now part of NVIDIA) to transfer physics calculations from the system CPU to the video card GPU in order to increase performance. Mechanical physics is the basis for calculations about the interaction of objects. For example, if you shoot, what exactly will happen to the object when the bullet hits it? Will it break? Will it move? Will the bullet bounce back? Note that since we are considering only the GPU score provided by this program, physics calculations are not taken into account.

We ran this program at three 16:10 widescreen resolutions, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, and 2560x1600. First we used the “Performance” profile, and then we used the “Extreme” profile (basically enabling anti-aliasing at 4x, anisotropic filtering at 16x, and putting all detail settings at their maximum or “extreme” values). The results being compared are the “GPU Scores” achieved by each video card.

Radeon HD 4850 and Radeon HD 4870 didn’t produce a reliable score for the “Extreme” profile under 2560x1600, so these particular results should not be considered.

XFX Radeon HD 5750

3DMark Vantage - Performance - 1680x1050GPU ScoreDifference
GeForce GTX 260/216716732.06%
Radeon HD 4870713531.47%
Radeon HD 5770683125.87%
Radeon HD 485054770.92%
Radeon HD 57505427 
GeForce GTS 25051485.42%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

3DMark Vantage - Performance - 1920x1200GPU ScoreDifference
GeForce GTX 260/216686061.34%
Radeon HD 4870559831.66%
Radeon HD 5770536826.25%
Radeon HD 57504306 
Radeon HD 485042520.00%
GeForce GTS 25038939.22%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

3DMark Vantage - Performance - 2560x1600GPU ScoreDifference
GeForce GTX 260/216384054.47%
Radeon HD 4870323029.93%
Radeon HD 5770304822.61%
Radeon HD 57502486 
Radeon HD 485023804.45%
GeForce GTS 250214915.68%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

3DMark Vantage - Extreme - 1680x1050GPU ScoreDifference
GeForce GTX 260/216561537.93%
Radeon HD 5770510925.50%
Radeon HD 4870509325.10%
Radeon HD 57504071 
GeForce GTS 25040001.77%
Radeon HD 485039413.30%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

3DMark Vantage - Extreme - 1920x1200GPU ScoreDifference
GeForce GTX 260/216524060.79%
Radeon HD 5770410625.99%
Radeon HD 4870404023.96%
Radeon HD 57503259 
Radeon HD 485031194.49%
GeForce GTS 25030736.05%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

3DMark Vantage - Extreme - 2560x1600GPU ScoreDifference
GeForce GTX 260/216302058.36%
Radeon HD 5770241726.74%
Radeon HD 57501907 
GeForce GTS 250172910.29%
Radeon HD 4870518268.15%
Radeon HD 4850402374.38%

Call of Duty 4

Call of Duty 4 is a DirectX 9 game implementing high-dynamic range (HDR) and its own physics engine, which is used to calculate how objects interact. For example, if you shoot, what exactly will hapen to the object when the bullet hits it? Will it break? Will it move? Will the bullet bounce back? It gives a more realistic experience to the user.

We ran this program at three 16:10 widescreen resolutions, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, and 2560x1600, maxing out all image quality controls (i.e., everything was put on the maximum values on the Graphics and Texture menus). We used the game internal benchmarking feature, running a demo provided by NVIDIA called “wetwork.” We are putting this demo for downloading here if you want to run your own benchmarks. The game was updated to version 1.6. The results below are the average number of frames per second (FPS) achieved by each card.

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Call of Duty 4 - 1680x1050FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21686.4416.68%
GeForce GTS 25082.3411.15%
Radeon HD 487083.8013.12%
Radeon HD 577079.867.80%
Radeon HD 575074.08 
Radeon HD 485069.546.53%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Call of Duty 4 - 1920x1200FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21683.5033.81%
GeForce GTS 25075.4220.87%
Radeon HD 487073.6017.95%
Radeon HD 577070.1412.40%
Radeon HD 575062.40 
Radeon HD 485057.189.13%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Call of Duty 4 - 2560x1600FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21664.3657.67%
GeForce GTS 25049.6021.51%
Radeon HD 487047.4016.12%
Radeon HD 577046.0812.89%
Radeon HD 575040.82 
Radeon HD 485036.2612.58%

Crysis Warhead

Crysis Warhead is a DirectX 10 game based on the same engine as the original Crysis, but optimized (it runs under DirectX 9.0c when installed on Windows XP). We ran this program at three 16:10 widescreen resolutions, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, and 2560x1600, maximizing image quality (16x anti-aliasing, 16x anisotropic filtering) and using the Airfield demo. The results below are the number of frames per second achieved by each video card.

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Crysis Warhead - 1680x1050FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21618.038.46%
Radeon HD 577017.030.77%
GeForce GTS 25014.07.69%
Radeon HD 575013.0 
Radeon HD 485012.08.33%
Radeon HD 487011.513.04%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Crysis Warhead - 1920x1200FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/2161536.36%
Radeon HD 57701318.18%
Radeon HD 575011 
GeForce GTS 2501010.00%
Radeon HD 48701010.00%
Radeon HD 4850837.50%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Crysis Warhead - 2560x1600FPSDifference
Radeon HD 5770814.29%
Radeon HD 57507 
GeForce GTX 260/216540.00%
GeForce GTS 250475.00%
Radeon HD 48501600.00%
Radeon HD 48701600.00%

Fallout 3

Fallout 3 is based on the same engine used by The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and it is a DirectX 9.0c (Shader 3.0) game. We configured the game with “ultra” image quality settings, maxing out all image quality settings, at three 16:10 widescreen resolutions, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, and 2560x1600. To measure performance, we used the FRAPS utility running an outdoor scene at God mode, running through enemy fire, triggering post processing effects, and ending with a big explosion in front of Dupont Circle.

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Fallout 3 - 1680x1050FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21677.318.46%
Radeon HD 577076.437.23%
Radeon HD 487075.325.67%
GeForce GTS 25074.334.28%
Radeon HD 575071.28 
Radeon HD 485069.362.77%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Fallout 3 - 1920x1200FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21677.3016.91%
Radeon HD 487073.4511.09%
Radeon HD 577070.957.30%
GeForce GTS 25068.753.98%
Radeon HD 575066.12 
Radeon HD 485059.5611.01%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Fallout 3 - 2560x1600FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21661.4931.30%
Radeon HD 577053.9115.12%
Radeon HD 575046.83 
GeForce GTS 25046.091.61%
Radeon HD 487044.325.66%
Radeon HD 485033.2540.84%

Far Cry 2

Far Cry 2 is based on an entirely new game engine called Dunia, which is DirectX 10 when played under Windows Vista with a DirectX 10-compatible video card. We used the benchmarking utility that comes with this game, setting image quality to the maximum allowed and running the “Ranch Long” demo three times. The results below are expressed in frames per second and are an arithmetic average of the three results collected.

Radeon HD 4850 and Radeon HD 4870 could not run Far Cry 2 at 2500x1600 with all image quality settings maxed out.

XFX Radeon HD 5750

FarCry 2 - 1680x1050FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21638.9258.79%
GeForce GTS 25031.0726.76%
Radeon HD 577027.5012.20%
Radeon HD 575024.51 
Radeon HD 487011.29117.09%
Radeon HD 48509.80150.10%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

FarCry 2 - 1920x1200FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21633.8255.35%
GeForce GTS 25026.2320.49%
Radeon HD 577024.3511.85%
Radeon HD 575021.77 
Radeon HD 48708.94143.51%
Radeon HD 48507.38194.99%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

FarCry 2 - 2560x1600FPSDifference
GeForce GTX 260/21618.6151.30%
GeForce GTS 25017.1539.43%
Radeon HD 577014.4917.80%
Radeon HD 575012.30 

Unigine Tropics

Unigine is a 3D engine used by some games and simulations. The developer provides two demos for this engine, Tropics and Sanctuary. We ran the Tropics benchmarking module under DirectX 9 mode at full screen with image quality settings maxed out. The results below are the number of frames per second achieved by each video card.

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Tropics  - 1680x1050FPSDifference
Radeon HD 487042.424.34%
Radeon HD 577040.930.46%
Radeon HD 575034.1 
Radeon HD 485032.54.92%
GeForce GTX 260/21631.48.60%
GeForce GTS 25026.727.72%

XFX Radeon HD 5750

Tropics  - 1920x1200FPSDifference
Radeon HD 577034.519.79%
Radeon HD 575028.8 
GeForce GTX 260/21628.51.05%
Radeon HD 485027.45.11%
Radeon HD 487024.617.07%
GeForce GTS 25021.533.95%

Conclusions

The good news about Radeon HD 5750 is that in the worst-case scenario it achieved the same performance as Radeon HD 4850, being on most situations between 4% and 13% faster than this previous-generation video card. On situations that high-performance is needed, in particular on Far Cry 2 with image quality settings maxed out, Radeon HD 5750 achieved more than double the performance from Radeon HD 4850. And certain configurations that Radeon HD 4850 can’t run (2560x1600 with image quality settings maxed out on 3DMark Vantage and Far Cry 2) the new Radeon HD 5750 can. And the amazing thing is that when Radeon HD 4850 was originally released it cost around USD 200 and the new Radeon HD 5750 costs only USD 140, so you can get similar or higher performance plus DirectX 11 support at a lower cost.

The problem is that on most of our tests the main competitor from NVIDIA, GeForce GTS 250, was faster. Only on 3DMark Vantage (up to 10%) and on Unigine Tropics (between 28% and 34%) Radeon HD 5750 was faster than GeForce GTS 250. For example, on Call of Duty 4 GeForce GTS 250 was between 11% and 22% faster, on Crysis Warhead it was 8% faster and on Far Cry 2 it was between 20% and 39% faster. On Fall Out 3 the difference between the two cards was too small. Keep in mind that on all these games we cranked up all image quality settings to their max.

Radeon HD 5750 is definitely o good replacement for Radeon HD 4850, as explained, but it may fall behind its main competitor, GeForce GTS 250, depending on the resolution and image quality settings you like to play the most. From the six programs we ran, GeForce GTS 250 won on three of them, Radeon HD 5750 won on two of them and they tied on one of them. Since we can’t run all the games available on the market and since our results do not point out a clear winner, we have to claim a technical tie.

We are given our Silver Award instead of our Golden because, as explained, Radeon HD 5750 isn’t faster than its main competitor on all situations.

Originally at http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/XFX-Radeon-HD-5750-Video-Card-Review/844


© 2004-14, Hardware Secrets, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Total or partial reproduction of the contents of this site, as well as that of the texts available for downloading, be this in the electronic media, in print, or any other form of distribution, is expressly forbidden. Those who do not comply with these copyright laws will be indicted and punished according to the International Copyrights Law.

We do not take responsibility for material damage of any kind caused by the use of information contained in Hardware Secrets.